Election 2016: That’s the way it was

Southwest Escondido Precinct 455-270, otherwise know as the Granger residence garage, Tuesday.

San Diego County Registrar of Voters related these vote totals Tuesda morning for local candidates and measures.

In the Carlsbad City Council race, challenger Cori Schumacher has taken a slight lead over incumbent Lorraine Wood. Schumacher has 20.15 percent (10,471) of the vote, while Wood follows closely with 20.01 percent (10,398), for a 73 vote difference.

Incumbent Keith Blackburn leads by nearly 2,000 votes and has 23.99 percent of the vote. All precincts have reported.

However, 620,000 mail and provisional ballots are outstanding, according to the San Diego County Registrar of Voters. Although a significant number of ballots are outstanding, a small percentage of those appear to represent Carlsbad.

So far, 51,962 residents have cast a ballot.

In Escondido, incumbent Olga Diaz leads her District 3 race against Joe Garcia, 59.1 percent to 40.9 percent. Fellow incumbent Mike Morasco holds a commanding lead in District 4 over Ingrid Rainey, 60.79-39.21.

For city treasurer, Doug Shultz has pulled away as he has 35.72 percent of the vote. He is followed by John Trudell (26.31), Blaise Jackson (16.81), Ryan Clark (14.71) and Robroy Fawcett (6.45).

Measure B

With 100 percent of precincts counted Wednesday morning, Measure B, the so-called Lilac Hills Ranch initiative, was failing with 36 percent in favor and 64 percent opposed.

“This victory is a reflection of a phenomenal countywide effort to protect our General Plan and set a new course for thoughtful growth in San Diego County,” said James Gordon, co-chair of the No on B campaign. “Measure B’s proponents had plenty of money, but we had the facts on our side.”

To date, the Yes on B campaign has reported spending more than $5 million on a paid advertising campaign to promote the measure to voters. Despite being outspent at a rate of 20-to-1, the No on B campaign successfully leveraged volunteer time, social media and neighbor-to-neighbor communications to secure a decisive defeat of the measure.

“The outcome of this election should send a clear message to developers eyeing the ballot box to skirt county reviews in San Diego,” added Mark Jackson, No on B co-chair. “Land use decisions must go through the usual channels, especially if a change to the General Plan is involved. That’s the only way we can be sure to protect quality of life in communities throughout the county.”

A statement released by backers of Measure B on Tuesday night all but conceded defeat while at the same time vowing this is not the end.

“Measure B represented  an enormous undertaking to educate the entire county on the need for additional housing,” the statement read. “This housing crisis continues, and our efforts to build this great community, Lilac Hills Ranch, doesn’t end with tonight. We will continue our efforts to bring the community affordable housing opportunities with the greenest community in the county, Lilac Hills Ranch.”

Measure O

Measure O in Carlsbad, however, is cruising to victory as the proposal has a 71.4 percent in favor to 28.6 against. It will rebuild Fire Station No. 2.

Measure T

In Encinitas, Measure T is failing 56.03 percent to 43.97 in another controversial proposal.

Proposition 64

Proposition 64, which would legalize recreational marijuana, leads 56 percent to 44 percent.

Escondido Union High School District 

Dane White leads Cesar Serrano 62 percent to 38 percent.

Escondido Union School District

Doug Paulson leads Giovanny Miranda 74 percent to 26 percent in Dist. 1, while Joe Muga is up on Mirek Gorny 67 percent to 33 percent in the Dist. 3 race.

District 3 Supervisor

The Board of Supervisors race, meanwhile, is tight between incumbent Dave Roberts and Encinitas Mayor Kristin Gaspar. Roberts leads 50.9-49.1 with a little more than 2,000 vote lead.

Vista City Council

Amanda Rigby (19.9) and Joe Green (17.56) are the two frontrunners followed by Dale Pilat (16.18), incumbent Cody Campbell (16.02), Erubey Lopez (12.9), Tom Fleming (11.5) and Victoria Waufle (5.95).

Solana Beach City Council

In the Solana Beach city council race, David Zito (24.17), Judy Hegenauer (21.45) and Jewel Edson (21.23) are the top three. In fourth is Cynthia Walsh (12.89) followed by Chris Horn (12.57) and Edward Siegel (7.7).

San Marcos City Council

Incumbents Rebecca Jones and Sharron Jenkins have a steady lead to hold retain their spots on the council.

Encinitas City Council

Incumbent Tony Kranz leads with 23.22 percent followed by T. Boerner Horvath (21.72), incumbent Mark Muir (20.87), Tony Brandenburg (17.47) and Phil Graham (16.72).

Encinitas Mayor Race

Encinitas City Councilwoman Catherine Blakespear has a commanding lead over challenger Paul Gaspar, husband of current mayor and San Diego County Board of Supervisor candidate Kristin Gaspar. Blakespear leads Paul Gaspar 67.23 percent to 32.77 percent.

Encinitas Union School District Board

Rimga Viskanta and Patricia Sinay are all but tied at 27.75 percent and 27.54 percent, respectively, for two open seats on the Encinitas Union School Board. Leslie Schneider and Anne Pingree trail with 22.77 percent and 21.93 percent, respectively.


In Oceanside, the bizarre saga continues for city treasurer.

Gary Ernst, who died in September, leads 53-47 over Nadine Scott.

Mayor Jim Wood, meanwhile, is routing his four challengers with 64.06 percent of the vote. Jim Gibson is second with 23.57 followed by Cynthia Rocco (5.45), Rick Kratcoski (4.02) and Gergeo Kerpani (2.91).

As for Oceanside city council, Esther Sanchez (24.31) and Jack Feller (22.15) lead the race followed by Linda Gonzales (17.27), Steve Hasty (13.2), Victor Roy (10.15), Ward O’Doherty (10.14) and Daniel Dumouchel (2.78).

Be the first to comment on "Election 2016: That’s the way it was"

Leave a comment